Anna Hefrey Scholarship Fund

Anna Hefrey Scholarship Fund

ChurnMag has been one of the leading online tobacco reduction advocates for over four years now. We reach millions of people each year with our message. We now wish to promote and extend our message further in honor of a cherished family member.

Through the Anna Hefrey Scholarship Fund, we will award $6000 a year in scholarships to students who display our same passion for caring and improving the quality of life for millions of Americans.

Although tobacco smoking is in decline, mostly through harm reductions methods like Vaping, more than 16 million Americans live with a smoking-related disease. About 15% of the adult US population, or 36 Million people, still smoke. Many of these smokers will join those 16 million already living with a smoking-related disease. Tobacco usage is the leading cause of preventable disease and death in the United States. It accounts for one in every five deaths, or nearly a half million American lives every year.

With the Anna Hefrey Scholarship, we want to challenge current and prospective college students to share their thoughts on some of the tough choices we have to make as a society to aid tobacco harm reduction. We hope to inspire the next generation to help continue the fight for the health of so many impacted in our nation.

Scholarship Awards 

We plan to select three (3) students who are judged to have provided the best entries in our yearly essay challenge. The winning applicants will receive awards towards their tuition for their college and university courses. The winning students for first, second and third place receive scholarships in the amounts of $3,500, $1,500 and $1,000, respectively.

There are no fees or costs associated with applying for the award. Scholarship funds may only be used to pay for college tuition or education-related expenses.

Only one (1) submission per student is allowed. There are no costs associated with applying for the Anna Hefrey Scholarship.

Eligibility for Scholarship Entry

Applicants qualified to enter must be:

  • At least 18 years old by October 1st 2018.
  • A full-time student in a U.S. institution for graduate or undergraduate program. (U.S. territories are included). Oversea placements acceptable.
  • U.S. Citizens, U.S. Nationals or U.S. Permanent Residents.

Applications must not be:

  • Owners, staff, volunteers, freelancers, including their children and grandchildren, of
  • DACA or International students or temporary residents of the USA.

Essay Contest Details

To apply for the Anna Hefrey Scholarship, all you need to do is share your vision for a tobacco free USA.

Applicants must submit a typed essay (1,500–2,500 words) answering the following questions:

  • Should the government do more to prevent the sale of Tobacco based products?
  • Why do so many people choose to ignore public health warnings regarding tobacco?
  • Is the rise of electronic cigarettes part of the solution or part of the problem?
  • What effect could a tobacco free US offer our health care system?

All essay entries must include cited references, a word count and include a signature with a full name (both first and last name), along with the applicant’s email address, phone number, date of birth, and permanent address.

The winning candidates will be determined based on the content, style, research and originality put into each question. Judges are looking for well-organized, researched essays that provide clear and coherent arguments.

How to Enter

  1. Download, print and fill in a Scholarship Contest Application Form.
  2. Email your essay as well as a scanned copy of your completed application form to


  • The next application period starts on October 1st, 2017.
  • The application deadline is May 31, 2018, at 5:00 pm Central Time.

Award Notification

  • The top three finalists, as selected by the judges to receive a scholarship, will be notified via email or telephone.
  • All winners will be announced to the public on this page.
  • The winners of the 2018/19 Scholarship will be announced no later than June 07, 2018.

Leave a Reply